The Anvil Society

In 1833, the Snow and Simmons families settled in what we know today as the City of Oxford. They soon discovered an abundance of iron ore, which resulted in the establishment of the Cane Creek Furnace at Morrisville in 1840. Mining and refining the ore expanded with the construction in 1862 of the Oxford Furnace and Ohatchee’s Janney Iron Furnace in 1863. When Samuel Noble and business partner, General Daniel Tyler visited Calhoun County in 1872, they formed the Woodstock Iron Company and founded the City of Anniston.

With this heritage in mind, the Community Foundation of Northeast Alabama formally established “The Anvil Society”, a legacy program that honors individuals or families who commit to shaping and forging a stronger future for our community.  Membership is perpetual and recognizes those who have arranged a planned gift to the Community Foundation through a will, trust or assignment of a contract.

Once a gift has been established, the name of the donor is placed on a column in the lobby of the Community Foundation. Atop the column is an Anvil with the word “Future” stamped on it.

Anvil Society-Anvil with Future on it

Anvil Society Members


5 Anonymous Donors
Mary R. Ammons
John & Regena Baker
Gloria K. Bennett
Anna L. Berry
Carver Boynton
Mack & Rebecca Burt
Wayne & Nicki Carmello-Harper
George A. & Anne S. Carruth
Reverend & Mrs. Robert Childers
Randall & Barbara Cole
Sonde M. Coleman
Elizabeth S. Colyer
Anthony & Salena Cook
Elaine Edmondson
Joseph B. & Elizabeth G. Freeman
Forrest & Joyce French
Alexandra (Blair) Goodgame
Tommie J. Goggans III
Chris & Virginia Hopkins
Anne Jackson
Betty Hill Jackson
Mary Elizabeth Johnson
Dr. Theresa Kisor
Jerry L. & Judy M. Klug
Dr. Martha G. Lavender

Jennifer S. Maddox
Dr. Martha Merrill
Newman R. “Rod” Nowlin Jr.
Nanda & Ghanshyam Patel 
Jean L. Phillips
Greg and Cheryl Potts
Thomas S. Potts Jr.
Bevely Alison Ritch
Dr. Brenda Roberts
J. Mitchell Rogers
David & Dianna Schneider
Al & Anne Shumaker
Robert B. Smith
Wes & Cheri Smith
Esta G. Spector
Warren L. Spector
Mark Stevens
James Walker Swift
Dr. and Mrs. Arthur F. Toole III
Anita Genevieve Turpin
Ralph Edward Wade
Susan Waldron
Scott & Jaime Ward 
Ben Weaver


Mary S. Bernhard
S. David Boozer
Lindie K. Brown
Bobby Edmondson
Karan Lee Evans
Farley Moody Galbraith
Janice T. Hudson
Mrs. Stanton B. Ingram
Harland C. Jones
L. R. “Rush” & Jean Jordan
Dr. William Howard & Jessie Aiken Hodges Kryder 
Dr. Gertrude C. Luther


Jean H. Perley
Marie T. Rayfield
Mr. & Mrs. George B. Ritch Jr.
Phillip A. & Elise A. Sanguinetti
Mr. & Mrs. Andrew J. Saks
Oleta B. Spearman
Daniel E. Spector
H. T. & Terrell Stanford
Susie Parker Stringfellow
Jewell A. Tarnow
Dortha Glenn Travis
Ralph Edward Wade